Adventures in Floristing – Episode 1

It’s kinda funny… My bestie from way back in high school days always wanted to be a florist and here I am. But I grew up in this business. My

But I grew up in this business. My mum has been a florist since I was 2 years old.
She bought a little shop in Seven Hills, expecting to make just enough money to pay bills and put food on the table. She never expected that her whole life would be changed.She didn’t even know how to make a bouquet back then, didn’t know how to florist at all really. The woman she bought the business from assured

She didn’t even know how to make a bouquet back then, didn’t know how to florist at all really. The woman she bought the business from assured mum that she would stick around for six months or so to show mum the ropes. It was closer to the “or so” and by “or so” I mean not at all. The moment she got her money she was off and uncontactable. My

My mum was left with wedding bouquets to make the following weekend, a shop to fill and had to do it all with a toddler in toe. My father was working hard as a school teacher back then and he helped out as much as he could but it was still a very steep and rocky learning curve for my mum.

I don’t remember much from this stage of my floristry career, seeing as though I am pretty sure I was still beingΒ breastfed and wearing nappies. I do remember the floor though. My father had painted the cold concrete floor with a luminous lime green and giant colourful daisies spotted about like lily pads floating on a pond and I spent a large chunk of my days simply jumping from one to another.

I may not have helped much back then, but now I man the online part of ourΒ businesses. I can florist if I am needed, but I am much better suited to being behind a screen. My bestie on the other hand. She’s a damn good florist. Maybe I should consider giving her a job…

Leave a Reply

